What is the orange section of the ERG?

ORANGE: The orange pages are called the Guides. These pages are of use in determining the potential hazards of the chemical in question, with the greatest concern listed first. Additionally, the Guides give a brief description of the emergency action that should be taken by appropriate emergency response personnel.

How many guides are in the orange section of the ERG?

The ERG includes 62 “Guides” (found in the Orange Section) that identify the primary hazards associated with the applicable general category of hazardous material and general guidance on how to respond to incidents involving that general category of hazardous material.

What three pieces of information does the ERG orange section provide?

What three pieces of information does the ERG orange section provide for responding to a hazmat emergency? It tells you that the substance is Flammable (the flame and red background), a Flammable Liquid (Hazard Class 3), and Acetone (the four-digit number 1090).

What do the colors mean in the ERG?

The ERG is organized into easily recognized colors. WHITE – Introduction, instruction, guidance, placards, and more. YELLOW – Materials ordered by 4-Digit UN/NA Number. BLUE – Materials ordered by dangerous goods material name.

What are the 9 DOT hazard classes?

The nine hazard classes are as follows:

  • Class 1: Explosives.
  • Class 2: Gases.
  • Class 3: Flammable and Combustible Liquids.
  • Class 4: Flammable Solids.
  • Class 5: Oxidizing Substances, Organic Peroxides.
  • Class 6: Toxic Substances and Infectious Substances.
  • Class 7: Radioactive Materials.
  • Class 8: Corrosives.

Which packing group has the highest danger level?

The packing group indicates the degree of danger of a product or substance. Packing group I indicates great danger, packing group II indicates moderate danger and packing group III indicates minor danger.

How many hazard classes are there?

The DOT separates hazardous materials into nine different categories or “hazard classes.” They are defined by specific hazardous properties and have distinct regulatory requirements for packaging, markings, and labels.

What can an ERG diagnose?

Your doctor may perform an ERG to determine if you have an inherited or acquired disorder of the retina, such as:

  • retinitis pigmentosa, which is a genetic disease causing loss of peripheral and night vision.
  • macular degeneration, which is a loss of vision due to the death of cells in the macula.

What does the ERG measure?

The electroretinogram (ERG) is a diagnostic test that measures the electrical activity of the retina in response to a light stimulus. The ERG arises from currents generated directly by retinal neurons in combination with contributions from retinal glia.

What are the Nine 9 classes of IMDG Code?

The 9 Classes of Dangerous Goods

  • Explosive materials (Class 1)
  • Gases (Class 2)
  • Flammable Liquids (Class 3)
  • Flammable Solids (Class 4)
  • Oxidising Substances and Organic Pesticides (Class 5)
  • Toxic and Infections Substances (Class 6)
  • Radioactive Materials (Class 7)
  • Corrosive Materials (Class 8)

What is the Orange section of the ERG?

Orange: The orange section of the ERG provides information on hazards and emergency response actions. It consists of two-page guides for specific substances, with the left page containing safety information and the right page outlining the actions that should be taken in the event of an emergency.

What are the ERG sections?

The 380-page ERG is divided into four major color-coded sections: yellow, blue, orange and green. It contains a placard chart; numerical and alphabetical listings; action guides; protective action distances; water-reactive materials; protective clothing; a glossary; and miscellaneous information.

What is the Green section in the ERG?

The green section of the ERG identifies evacuation distances and materials that produce toxic gases when they are mixed with water. Evacuation distances are shown for day and night scenarios, when toxic concentrations differ because of atmospheric conditions.

What are the colors of the ERG?

Information on how to use the ERG and other supporting information including definitions and emergency response telephone numbers can be found in the white pages of the ERG. Then, the Guidebook is divided into four color-coded sections: yellow, blue, orange and green.