What is the aim and objective of COMESA?

In working to achieve its vision, COMESA’s primary objectives are: to attain sustainable growth and development for member states; to promote joint development and cooperation in various fields of economic activity and macro-economic policies and programmes; the promotion of peace, security, and stability among member …

What is the COMESA treaty?

Treaty establishing the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa.

What is Comea’s main aim?

The objective is to reduce the cost of cross-border trade through the removal of internal barriers; to increase local private sector participation in regional and global value chains as well as to enhance the institutional capacity of the COMESA Secretariat and its Member States to deepen regional integration.

What is the role of COMESA in international trade?

African countries have created many regional trade agreements with the economic objectives of reducing trade barriers and encouraging economic growth. COMESA represents a chance for member countries to enhance their economic and social relations through increasing intra-trade.

What are the roles of COMESA?

COMESA (as defined by its Treaty) was established ‘as an organisation of free independent sovereign states which have agreed to co-operate in developing their natural and human resources for the good of all their people’ and as such it has a wide-ranging series of objectives which necessarily include in its priorities …

What are the advantages of COMESA?

COMESA offers its members and partners a wide range of benefits which include:

  • A wider, harmonised and more competitive market.
  • Greater industrial productivity and competitiveness.
  • Increased agricultural production and food security.
  • A more rational exploitation of natural resources.

Which is the largest common market in Africa?

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) is the largest regional economic organization in Africa, with 19 member states and a population of about 390 million. COMESA has a free trade area, with 19 member states, and launched a customs union in 2009.

Is South Sudan a member of COMESA?

Comesa has 19 countries and South Sudan becomes the twentieth entry. Other 19 countries are Burundi, Comoros, D.R. Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar,Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

What are the roles of Ecowas?

Today ECOWAS functions on a regular platform with four pillars: Peace and Security, Developing Infrastructure, Policy harmonization (to facilitate trade) and Good Corporate Governance. One highlight of its current activities is the West Africa Customs Union which will go into effect January 1, 2008.

Why is South Africa not part of COMESA?

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa was founded in 1993 as a successor to the Preferential Trade Area for Eastern and Southern Africa (PTA), which was established in 1981. South Africa is not a member of COMESA, having opted for membership of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

What are the challenges of COMESA?

Although services trade has been increasing in COMESA, key challenges to future expansion include poor infrastructure, unfavourable business environment, limited technology, lack of skilled professionals, and low domestic demand in some countries (UNCTAD, 2015).

Is South Africa part of COMESA?

South Africa is not a member of COMESA, having opted for membership of the Southern African Development Community (SADC). In October 2000, the COMESA Free Trade Area (FTA), the first of its kind in Africa, was launched. COMESA has been designated a pillar of the African Economic Community .