Who are the judges on the 6th Circuit court of appeals?


Judge Jane Branstetter Stranch September 15, 2010
Judge Bernice B. Donald September 8, 2011
Judge Amul R. Thapar May 25, 2017
Judge John K. Bush July 21, 2017

How many judges are in the 6th Circuit?

The Sixth Circuit has 16 authorized judicial posts. The chief judge of the court is Jeffrey Sutton, who was appointed by President George W. Bush (R). Six of the judges on the court were appointed by Donald Trump (R).

Who are the judges who serve on the Federal Circuit court?


  • Kimberly A. Moore, Chief Circuit Judge.
  • Pauline Newman, Circuit Judge.
  • Haldane Robert Mayer, Circuit Judge.
  • S. Jay Plager, Circuit Judge.
  • Alan D. Lourie, Circuit Judge.
  • Raymond C. Clevenger, III, Circuit Judge.
  • Alvin A. Schall, Circuit Judge.
  • William C. Bryson, Circuit Judge.

How many judges are on the US court of appeals for the Federal Circuit?

twelve judges
The judges of the court are appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Senate. Judges are appointed to the court for life under Article Ill of the Constitution of the United States. There are twelve judges in active service.

What states are in the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals?

The United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit serves the areas of Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin. For directions to the courthouse in Chicago, please see the Court Location.

How long does a federal judge serve?

“Article III federal judges” (as opposed to judges of some courts with special jurisdictions) serve “during good behavior” (often paraphrased as appointed “for life”). Judges hold their seats until they resign, die, or are removed from office.

What does the federal circuit court deal with?

The purpose of the Federal Circuit Court is to assist in determining far less complex family law matters and to determine general law matters in the federal jurisdiction. The Federal Circuit Court deals with a higher volume of cases which relieves the workload of the Family Court.

What does senior status mean for federal judges?

Senior status is a classification for federal judges at all levels who are semi-retired. Senior judges are Article III judges who, having met eligibility through age and service requirements, continue to serve on federal courts while hearing a reduced number of cases.

What’s the difference between circuit court and district court?

District courts are “lower” and have the responsibility for holding trials, while circuit courts are appellate courts that do not hold trials but only hear appeals for cases decided by the lower court. Several different district courts may fall under the same appellate (circuit) court.

What states are in the 6th Circuit?

The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit has jurisdiction over federal appeals arising from the states of Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio and Tennessee. The Court sits in Cincinnati, Ohio at the Potter Stewart United States Courthouse.

Who are the judges in the Fifth Judicial Circuit?

The circuit is comprised of Citrus, Hernando , Lake, Marion, and Sumter Counties, with main administrative offices in Ocala . The Fifth Judicial Circuit operates under the leadership of Chief Judge Daniel B. Merritt, Jr.and Jonathan Lin, Trial Court Administrator.

Does the US Circuit Court of Appeal have a jury?

The United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit is a unique court in that it has nationwide jurisdiction in a variety of subject areas. Appeals are heard by panels comprised of three judges. There are no jury instructions for this court.

Do circuit courts have appellate jurisdiction?

For example, in the United States federal system, circuit courts generally have appellate jurisdiction over district courts, and the United States Supreme Court usually has jurisdiction over the circuit courts. Typically, a case must first be submitted to a district court before it can be reviewed by a circuit court.