Who are the Committee of Five and what did they do?

Congress appointed a Committee of Five on June 11, 1776, to explain why the American colonies decided to become independent states and wanted separation from the British Empire. The Committee consisted of John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, Robert R. Livingston and Roger Sherman.

Who were in the Committee of Five?

The Committee of Five. The committee consisted of two New England men, John Adams of Massachusetts and Roger Sherman of Connecticut; two men from the Middle Colonies, Benjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania and Robert R. Livingston of New York; and one southerner, Thomas Jefferson of Virginia.

Who was a part of the Committee of Five What did they do and which member did most of the work?

The Committee of Five Livingston of New York, and Roger Sherman of Connecticut, to draft a declaration. This Declaration committee operated from June 11,1776 until July 5, 1776, the day on which the Declaration was published. The Committee of Five first presented the document to Congress on June 28, 1776.

Who were the 5 delegates that wrote the declaration of independence?

On June 11, 1776, anticipating that the vote for independence would be favorable, Congress appointed a committee to draft a declaration: Thomas Jefferson of Virginia, Roger Sherman of Connecticut, Benjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania, Robert R. Livingston of New York, and John Adams of Massachusetts.

What was the job of the committee of five?

The purpose of the Committee of Five was to provide the Committee of the whole with the first draft, which each member insisted that Jefferson be the man with the pen in hand.

Who made the Declaration of Independence?

Thomas Jefferson
Benjamin FranklinJohn AdamsRoger ShermanRobert R. Livingston
United States Declaration of Independence/Authors

What was the job of the Committee of Five?

Who signed the Declaration of Independence in order?

Signers of the Declaration of Independence

Name State Rep. Date of Death
Huntington, Samuel CT 1/5/1796
Jefferson, Thomas VA 7/4/1826
Lee, Francis Lightfoot VA 1/11/1797
Lee, Richard Henry VA 6/19/1794

Who is the father of the Constitution?

James Madison
James Madison, America’s fourth President (1809-1817), made a major contribution to the ratification of the Constitution by writing The Federalist Papers, along with Alexander Hamilton and John Jay. In later years, he was referred to as the “Father of the Constitution.”

Why was it difficult to produce the Declaration of Independence?

The major reason for the delay was the high value that the colonists attached to unanimity. While New England, Virginia, and South Carolina were ready to declare independence in 1775, other colonies still hoped that British merchants or the parliamentary opposition would respond to American grievance.