What were the NFL divisions in the 1970s?

Starting in 1970, there were three divisions (Eastern, Central and Western) in each conference.

What teams were in the NFL in 1970?

The format agreed on was as follows:

  • NFC East: Eagles, Redskins, Cowboys, Giants, Cardinals.
  • NFC Central: Packers, Bears, Vikings, Lions.
  • NFC West: Rams, 49ers, Saints, Falcons.
  • AFC East: Patriots, Jets, Colts, Bills, Dolphins.
  • AFC Central: Steelers, Browns, Bengals, Oilers.
  • AFC West: Broncos, Raiders, Chargers, Chiefs.

When did the NFL go to 4 divisions?

When the NFL expanded to 32 teams in 2002, the league realigned, changing the division structure from three divisions in each conference to four divisions in each conference.

How many NFL teams were there in 1972?

Those teams also had a tie on their resume, unlike the 1972 Dolphins. Five teams finished a season without a loss, but only one remained perfect….1972 Dolphins remain only perfect team in NFL’s 100 years: Here’s every team’s best unbeaten start.

Team Best unbeaten start to a season
Los Angeles Rams 11-0 (1969)

Who won the longest game in NFL history?

Final score: Dolphins 27, Chiefs 24 in two overtimes. Elapsed game time: 82 minutes and 40 seconds. Garo Yepremian, a left-footed, soccer-style kicker, booted the winning field goal to put the Dolphins in the AFC Championship Game and end the Chiefs’ season.

Who won the NFL championship in 1970?

Kansas City Chiefs
Super Bowl IV/Champion

Are NFL teams always in the same division?

THE ANATOMY OF THE NFL SCHEDULE The NFL’s scheduling formula ensures that all teams will play every team from every division in the other conference once every four years. The league’s 32 teams are split into two conferences — the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC).

Has there ever been co Mvps in the NFL?

The award would be represented by a Packer again when Brett Favre first won the award in 1995, then consequently repeated in 1996 and co-winning in 1997 along with Barry Sanders. Brett Favre, Jim Brown, Tom Brady, and Aaron Rodgers were named MVP on three separate occassions.

How fast did Brett Favre throw?

Figures for football greats are largely anecdotal but indicate that the greatest quarterbacks had exceptional throwing speed. Brett Favre is estimated at 63 mph, and Indianapolis Colts QB Peyton Manning, 59 mph on short hard throws.

What was the longest game ever?

This Day in Dolphins History December 25th, 1971: The longest game ever played took place. The 1971 AFC Divisional Playoff game between the Miami Dolphins and the Kansas City Chiefs took place on Christmas day and was the final game at the old Kansas City Municipal Stadium.

What Super Bowl was in 1970?

Super Bowl IV
Super Bowl IV, the fourth and final AFL–NFL World Championship Game in professional American football, was played on January 11, 1970, at Tulane Stadium in New Orleans, Louisiana….Super Bowl IV.

Minnesota Vikings (NFL) (12–2) Kansas City Chiefs (AFL) (11–3)
7 23
Head coach: Bud Grant Head coach: Hank Stram

What are the NFL football divisions?

The 32 NFL teams are divided into two conferences: the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference ( AFC ). Each of them is divided in four divisions: North, South, West and East.

What are the 32 NFL football teams?

Here’s a list of all 32 NFL football teams: Atlanta Falcons. Arizona Cardinals. Baltimore Ravens. Buffalo Bills. Carolina Panthers. Chicago Bears. Cincinnati Bengals.

What are the ranks in the NFL?

2019 NFL Quarterback Rankings 1. Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City 2. Tom Brady, New England 3. Drew Brees , New Orleans 4. Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay 5. Ben Roethlisberger , Pittsburgh 6. Andrew Luck, Indianapolis 7. Philip Rivers, Los Angeles Chargers 8. Russell Wilson , Seattle 9. Matt Ryan, Atlanta 10. Dak Prescott , Dallas

Which NFL teams are NFC?

The National Football Conference – Eastern Division or NFC East is one of the four divisions of the National Football Conference (NFC) in the National Football League (NFL). It currently has four members: the Dallas Cowboys, the New York Giants, the Philadelphia Eagles, and the Washington Redskins.