What is the hourly wage in NC?

$7.25 an
The minimum wage in North Carolina is currently $7.25 an hour. Employers doing business in North Carolina are required to pay at least $7.25 per hour to all employees (agricultural and domestic employees are subject to the federal minimum wage).

Does North Carolina pay time and a half?

North Carolina’s Overtime Minimum Wage Overtime pay, also called “time and a half pay”, is one and a half times an employee’s normal hourly wage. Therefore, North Carolina’s overtime minimum wage is $10.88 per hour, one and a half times the regular North Carolina minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.

What is a wage and hour case?

Wage and hour cases are a common form of class action litigation wherein groups of non-salaried workers, usually paid hourly or for shift work, claim that they were in some way underpaid or put at a disadvantage by their employer.

How many hours can you work in a day in NC?

There is no limit on the number of hours the adult employee may be required to work. The decision to work employees in eight-hour shifts, 12-hour shifts, 16-hour shifts, etc., is entirely up to the employer. The decision to call an employee back in to work on a scheduled day off is entirely up to the employer.

How much money do you need to live comfortably in North Carolina?

You want to earn at least three times the price of your rent to live comfortably. Using Raleigh, North Carolina, as an example, the average resident would need to earn at least $4,005 monthly before taxes to live comfortably. This translates to an annual pre-tax wage of $48,060.

Are 15 minute breaks required by law in North Carolina?

The North Carolina Wage and Hour Act does not require mandatory rest breaks or meal breaks for employees 16 years of age or older. The WHA requires breaks only for youths under 16 years of age. Generally, breaks of less than 30 minutes, such as a 15-minute rest break, have to be paid by the employer.

Can I sue my employer for not paying me correctly?

When an employer fails to pay an employee the applicable minimum wage or the agreed wage for all hours worked, the employee has a legal claim for damages against the employer. To recover the unpaid wages, the employee can either bring a lawsuit in court or file an administrative claim with the state’s labor department.

What is a labor standard lawsuit?

The Fair Labor Standards Act and state laws protect workers against wage and hour violations. Employees who were denied minimum wage or overtime can file a lawsuit against their employers for unpaid wages.

Is 100k a good salary in Charlotte NC?

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — The residents of 14 U.S. cities must earn at least $100,000 a year to comfortably rent or own a home in their area, according to an analysis from GoBankingRates.com.

What is considered a good salary in NC?

Average Salary in North Carolina

Annual Salary Hourly Wage
Top Earners $72,400 $35
75th Percentile $59,528 $29
Average $53,703 $26
25th Percentile $39,820 $19

What is the minimum wage in North Carolina?

North Carolina Minimum Wage for 2018, 2019. North Carolina’s state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate.

When will the minimum wage go up in North Carolina?

In spring 2017, two separate pieces of legislation, the Economic Security Act of 2017 and Living Wage by 2022, were introduced to North Carolina’s House and Senate, each proposing the gradual increase of North Carolina’s state minimum wage from $7.25 to $15.00 per hour by 2021 or 2022.

What are the penalties for wage and hour violations?

Penalties for violations of the State Wage and Hour Laws are as follows: Fine of $500 to $1,000 for a first violation (or imprisonment of 10 to 90 days); and Fine of $1,000 to $2,000 for a second or subsequent violation (or imprisonment of 10 to 100 days).

What is the minimum wage in North Carolina for waiters?

North Carolina’s minimum wage is the federal minimum $7.25 per hour, or $2.13 per hour for tipped employees, as per the Fair Labor Standards Act.