What is the famous Sikh terminology?

Daya (compassion), Nimrata (humility), Pyare (love), Santokh (contentment) and Sat (truth). Panj Kakke. The Five Ks; the five external symbols worn by both male and female Sikhs. The name of each symbol starts with the letter k (kakka); kaccha, kanga, kara, kesh and kirpan.

What are Sikh bhajans called?

Kirtan refers to devotional singing in Sikhism. It is typically performed at Gurdwaras (Sikh temples).

What is the biggest sin in Sikhism?

In Sikhism, Five Thieves are the five major weaknesses of the human personality at variance with its spiritual essence, and are known as “thieves” because they steal a person’s inherent common sense. These five thieves are kama (lust), krodh (wrath), lobh (greed), moh (attachment) and ahankar (ego or excessive pride).

Which Sikh occasion is today?

Guru Govind Singh Jayanti is a public holiday. It is a day off for the general population, and schools and most businesses are closed. Many Sikhs go to the temple during the celebration of the Guru’s birthday.

What is the Sikh word for God?

One of the most important names for God in Sikhism is Waheguru (Wonderful God or Lord). Sikhs learn about God through the teachings of Guru Nanak and the nine Sikh Gurus who came after him.

How many times a day should a Sikh pray?

In Sikhism, devotees pray three times a day, by reciting different sections of the holy book. The morning and evening prayers stay the same but during the day people may come to the Temple asking for guidance.

Is music allowed in Sikhism?

Music lies at the heart of the Sikh tradition and singing or listening to the hymns of the Granth Sahib (i.e. kirtan) for devout Sikhs is a spiritual act. They maintained that performing or listening to the praises of God was the most effective path towards spiritual fulfilment.

What are the 5 sins in Sikhism?

The five evils:

  • pride (ahankar)
  • anger (krodh)
  • lust (kam)
  • greed (lobdh)
  • attachment (moh)

What is forbidden in Sikhism?

Non-family-oriented living: Sikhs are discouraged to live as a recluse, beggar, yogi, monastic (monk/nun), or celibate. Worthless talk: Bragging, gossip, lying, slander, “backstabbing,” et cetera, are not permitted. Extramarital sexual relations: Adultery is prohibited; Sikhs are not allowed to cheat on their spouse.