What is Chapter 893 in Florida?

The Florida Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act (Florida Statutes, Title XLVI, Chapter 893) proclaims that “a person may not sell, manufacture, or deliver, or possess with intent to sell, manufacture, or deliver, a controlled substance.”

What is the sentence for possession of a controlled substance in Florida?

If convicted of the offense of Possession of a Controlled Substances, you could face up to five years in prison, up to five years of probation, and a maximum fine of $5,000. Remember, this applies to any drug in your possession which was not lawfully obtained from a practitioner or pursuant to a valid prescription.

Is possession of a controlled substance a felony in Florida?

Florida Statute 893.13. 6A makes it a third-degree felony to possess a controlled substance. A third-degree felony is punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of $5,000.

What is considered an illegal controlled substance?

Illegal possession of a controlled substance occurs whenever a person owns or otherwise possesses a drug or other controlled substance, without legal justification or permission. These charges usually apply when a person is found carrying marijuana, cocaine, methamphetamine, or other narcotics.

Can minors pick up prescriptions in Florida?

Yes because they are the patient the prescription is written for and the ID proves who they are. No because they cannot sign for it since it is a legal document and minors cannot enter into legal agreements.

Is fioricet a controlled substance in Florida?

Is Fioricet a Controlled Substance? Fioricet is a controlled substance, which means that it requires a prescription and cannot be purchased over the counter.

Is Gabapentin a controlled substance in Florida 2020?

Gabapentin is not scheduled as a controlled substance, meaning that the medication has little potential for addiction and abuse.

Can you get probation for a third degree felony in Florida?

A third-degree felony in Florida is an offense punishable by up to 5 years in prison, a $5000 fine, and 5 years of probation.

What is the minimum sentence for a 3rd degree felony in Florida?

There is no minimum sentence for a third degree felony in Florida, but there is a maximum sentence of up to five years in prison. There is also a maximum fine of up to $5,000. Depending on the crime, the court may order the defendant to pay restitution to the victim.

Can felony drug charges be dropped?

Plea Deals For example, a felony count of drug distribution can also have a charge for simple possession tacked on. In these instances, a defendant may agree to plead guilty to the major charge in exchange for the lesser charges being dropped.

How do you beat a felony drug charge in Texas?

Check out these four common ways to beat a felony drug charge in Texas:

  1. Don’t Say a Word. No, really—we mean it.
  2. Be Polite. We don’t want you chatting with police without a lawyer present.
  3. Think Hard About Any Plea Agreements You’re Handed. Prosecutors are busy little bees.
  4. Call a Lawyer. Just do it.

What is the maximum sentence for possession of a controlled substance in Texas?

What Are the Penalties for Drug Possession in Texas?

Possession Penalty Maximum Fine
Less than 28 grams Class A misdemeanor $4,000
28 to 200 grams 3rd degree felony $10,000
200 to 400 grams 2nd degree felony $10,000
More than 400 grams 1st degree felony $50,000

What does Chapter 893 of the Florida statutes mean?

Short title. Statutory references. Definitions. Standards and schedules. Death resulting from apparent drug overdose; reporting requirements. Industrial exceptions to controlled substance scheduling. Listed chemicals. Control of new substances; findings of fact; delegation of authority to Attorney General to control substances by rule.

What are the Controlled Substances in chapter 893?

893.03 Standards and schedules.— The substances enumerated in this section are controlled by this chapter. The controlled substances listed or to be listed in Schedules I, II, III, IV, and V are included by whatever official, common, usual, chemical, trade name, or class designated.

Who is legal owner of controlled substances in Florida?

(4) The legal owner of any stock of controlled substances in a pharmacy, upon discontinuance of dealing in controlled substances, may sell said stock to a manufacturer, wholesaler, or pharmacy.

What is the definition of public nuisance 893.138?

893.138 Local administrative action to abate certain activities declared public nuisances. 893.145 “Drug paraphernalia” defined. 893.146 Determination of paraphernalia.