What is a single or multiple station alarm responsive to smoke?

What defines the two types? National Fire Protection Association(NFPA) 72, National Fire Alarm Code, defines a smoke alarm as a single- or a multiple-station alarm that is responsive to smoke.

What is a multiple station smoke alarm?

In a multi-station smoke detector system, a number of interconnected smoke detectors are installed in different rooms. When any one of them detects the presence of smoke, all the units sound alarms simultaneously. Test your smoke detectors at least once each month to make sure they don’t need new batteries.

What are the two types of smoke detectors?

Generally, there are two types of home smoke alarms: photoelectric and ionization.

What are different types of smoke detectors?

There are two types of smoke alarms in general use for home smoke alarms: photoelectric and ionization. These smoke alarms sense the presence of smoke differently. The type of smoke produced by a fire depends on the type of fire. Flaming fires produce a different type of smoke than smoldering fires.

Does code require a smoke detector in the kitchen?

Smoke detectors should be installed on every level of your home to detect rising smoke from a fire. They should be placed inside or directly outside of each bedroom and common areas, and in laundry rooms and kitchens where fires can originate.

Do smoke alarms need to be on a separate circuit?

Residential smoke alarms should be wired on a dedicated circuit. It’s a good idea to have at least one light or receptacle-on the same circuit, to alert the homeowners in case the circuit breaker ever trips. Interconnected alarms are usually wired in a daisy chain, using 14-3 or 12-3 cable.

What are the three types of smoke detectors?

There are three types of smoke alarms, ionization, photoelectric and a combination of the two which is commonly called a “dual” detector. Look for the UL stamp on any smoke alarm. Research has shown: Ionization smoke alarms detect flaming fires marginally earlier than photo-electric smoke alarms.

Are 10-year battery smoke detectors good?

The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) recommends every smoke alarm be replaced after 10 years and that regular batteries be replaced every six months. With 10-year sealed battery alarms, battery replacements and late-night battery chirps are eliminated for a decade.

How many smoke detectors are required by law?

Required Number of Smoke Alarms If a hallway adjoins more than one bedroom, a single smoke alarm is sufficient. You’ll also have at least one smoke alarm on each level of the house, and if the house is big, you may need more than that, although no law specifies how many.