What are the 15 executive departments and their functions?

State, Treasury, Defense, Justice, Interior, Agriculture, Commerce, Labor, Health and Human Services, Housing and Urban Development, Transportation, Energy, Education, Veterans Affairs, Homeland Security.

What is the 15 executive departments?

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the …

What are the 4 executive departments?

The Executive Office of the President (EOP) comprises four agencies that advise the president in key policy areas: the White House Office, the National Security Council, the Council of Economic Advisors, and the Office of Management and Budget.

What are the 9 executive offices in the executive branch?

Executive Office of the President

  • Council of Economic Advisers.
  • Council on Environmental Quality.
  • Executive Residence.
  • National Security Council.
  • Office of Administration.
  • Office of Management and Budget.
  • Office of National Drug Control Policy.
  • Office of Science and Technology Policy.

What are 3 parts of the executive branch?

Today, the executive branch consists of well over 3 million people who work in one of three general areas: the Executive Office of the President (EOP); the cabinet and 15 executive departments; and an extensive collection of federal agencies and corporations responsible for specific areas of the government, such as the …

What is the major function of the executive departments?

Answer and Explanation: The major function of all the executive branch departments is the enforcement of law. These departments all work to enforce particular aspects of the country? s law, whether that be border security, defending the country, or distributing welfare.

What are the first 4 executive departments?

Order of Establishment of the Executive Departments

Rank* Year Executive Departments
1 1789 Department of State
2 1789 Department of the Treasury
3 1789 1947 Department of War Department of Defense (merger of War and Navy departments)
4 1789 1870 Attorney General Department of Justice

What is another name for the executive department?

the administrative branch
The executive branch does not have a different name. It can, however, be called the administrative branch since its main task is the administration of…

What is the newest executive department?

The HOMELAND SECURITY DEPARTMENT is the newest division of the executive branch.

What is the most powerful branch?

The Legislative Branch
In conclusion, The Legislative Branch is the most powerful branch of the United States government not only because of the powers given to them by the Constitution, but also the implied powers that Congress has. There is also Congress’s ability to triumph over the Checks and balances that limits their power.

Who is in charge of the executive branch?

Key roles of the executive branch include: President—The president leads the country. He or she is the head of state, leader of the federal government, and Commander in Chief of the United States armed forces. The president serves a four-year term and can be elected no more than two times.

Who makes up the executive?

The executive branch carries out and enforces laws. It includes the president, vice president, the Cabinet, executive departments, independent agencies, and other boards, commissions, and committees.

Who are the members of the Executive Secretariat?

The Executive Secretariat (S/ES), comprised of the Executive Secretary, five Deputy Executive Secretaries, and their staff, is responsible for coordination of the work of the Department internally, serving as the liaison between the Department’s bureaus and the offices of the Secretary, Deputy Secretary, and Under Secretaries.

What does the Executive Secretariat of the Department of State do?

It also handles the Department’s relations with the White House, National Security Council, and other Cabinet agencies.

Who are the heads of the executive departments?

The heads of the executive departments are appointed by the President and take office after confirmation by the United States Senate, and serve at the pleasure of the President. The heads of departments are members of the Cabinet of the United States, an executive organ that normally acts as an advisory…

What does exectech do for the Executive Secretariat?

ExecTech supports the DoS senior leadership, the Executive Secretariat, and other offices under the administrative umbrella of S/ES. We provide round-the-clock IT and communications services with outstanding customer service rooted in a boutique approach to meet the unique needs of the “7th floor.”