How is the Stanley Cup engraved?

Like the Grey Cup, awarded to the winner of the Canadian Football League, the Stanley Cup is engraved with the names of the winning players, coaches, management, and club staff. Clubs engraved their team names, usually in the form “TEAM NAME” “YEAR WON”, on that one ring until it was full in 1902.

How do they keep adding names to the Stanley Cup?

When the rings become full, the oldest band is removed and preserved in Lord Stanley’s Vault at the Great Esso Hall in the Hockey Hall of Fame. A blank replacement band is then put in its place to be filled with the names of the next champions.

Do they take names off the Stanley Cup?

There are over 2,300 names on the cup, and it is constantly changing. As new names are added, old rings are removed. The names of players between 1928-29 and 1953-54 are at the Hockey Hall of Fame.

What is engraved in the bowl of the Stanley Cup?

Engraving on the Inside Bowl On the inside of the bowl the teams who won the Stanley Cup got their team name on and the name of the players on that team. Here is a chart of the two teams plus the one player who appear on the inside of the cup.

How many years until Stanley Cup is full?

The best time to get your name on the Cup is the first year that they add a new barrel to the Cup. The worst time would be the last year that a spot on a barrel is available before a new one must be added. This would give a range of 52 to 65 years before a name would get taken off the Stanley Cup.

Are there 2 Stanley Cups?

There are multiple Stanley Cups Parts of the cup have had to be replaced, including the original bowl. The Stanley Cup travels around for different events. So the Hockey Hall of Fame decided to make a replica. That way the cup is always on display there, even when the real Stanley Cup is away.

Do teams get a replica Stanley Cup?

Do teams get a copy of the Stanley Cup? No, there are no more Stanley Cups being replicated. In other major sports like MLB, NBA, and the NFL each team is given a replica of their respective trophy, but not in the NHL.